Oh Yeah, I’ll Tell You Something…

default_pr_benson_beatles_04_sullivan_show_1206151347_id_577007It was 50 Years ago today…that these English lads began to play…

Began to play on the Ed Sullivan show, that is.  It was one of music’s most iconic events ever.  John, Paul, George and Ringo took the stage and played “All My Loving”.

 “Close your eyes and I’ll kiss you
Tomorrow I’ll miss you
Remember I’ll always be true
And then while I’m away
I’ll write home every day
And I’ll send all my loving to you.”

There had been a somber mood in the nation for 77 days as it mourned the loss of President John F. Kennedy. The youth of the nation was ready to get ‘glad all over’ once again.

I was a very small child at the time and I remember listening to ‘I Want to Hold Your Hand’ on the radio in the kitchen.  It’s actually my first musical memory of all.

“Oh yeah, I’ll tell you something
I think you’ll understand
When I’ll say that something
I wanna hold your hand”

As I grew, my love for the Beatles grew as well.  When I was 6 or 7, several of the boys in the neighborhood behind us put on a “concert”.  They cut guitars out of cardboard and stood up on the porch and did some pretty great lip-synching to “Ticket to Ride”.  Although I do remember a good deal of in-fighting about who was Paul and who was John.

“I think I’m gonna be sad
I think it’s today, yeah
The girl that’s driving me mad
Is going away”

As I grew into adulthood, the Beatles remained a part of my life’s sound track.  “Paper Back Writer” holds a great significance…

“Dear Sir or Madam, will you read my book?
It took me years to write, will you take a look?
It’s based on a novel by a man named Lear
And I need a job, so I want to be a paperback writer
Paperback writer”

I’m still seeking a “Sir or Madam” to read my first book.  Fingers crossed.

The song, “I Saw Her Standing There” fits perfectly with the way my husband and I met and began dating in High School and went to prom together…

“Whoa, we danced through the night
And we held each other tight
And before too long I fell in love with her
Now I’ll never dance with another 
Since I saw her standing there”

(Of course, I’d replace the hers with hims 😉

As for the rest of the Beatles’ songs, well…

“In my life, I’ve loved them all.”

Now here’s a little bit of my favorite memory…

 

 

Leave a Reply

