House Hunting

A3538I love the show House Hunters.  I love the international version as well.  It’s fun to peek into homes and see if I can picture myself living there.  Now, switch to real life house hunting, not quite so entertaining.

My husband and I have been married since 1981 – coming up on 33 years…that’s like 210 in Hollywood years.  We’ve had a few homes, have even built two of them, and I’ve always enjoyed the house search.

Jump ahead to 2014 and it’s just not the same.  I’m not sure why that is but I’m in the mind set of “let’s just pick one and be done with this”. After renting a lovely town home for a year, we have decided to return to home ownership.  Call us crazy.  We have done so. But, be that as it may, we want a home that’s ours.

We singled out two or three cities in which we’d like to reside.  We’ve chosen a style of home we’d like to find, which is easier said than done. I’m hoping that in the very near future we will find the house that feels like home.  The one that will serve our scaled-down purposes and still allow loved ones to visit comfortably.

I still enjoy seeing the homes and imagining who lives there now.  I wonder about all the gatherings that were held there and then try to visualize our family, now scattered about, gathering there.

So today I’m off again with my real estate agent friend to see 8 more options.  As I walk through the rooms I always try to remember that this is someone’s home and to respect that fact.  And I also say a little prayer for the family who is leaving and hope that they find what they are seeking as they move on.

It may be cliche, but it’s true…be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

