A Walk In The Snow

li_lww_3“It was a full moon and, shining on all the snow, it made everything almost as bright as day — only the shadows were rather confusing.”
-C.S. Lewis (The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe)
~~~~~
There’s something about hearing the crunch of new fallen snow underfoot that makes me happy.
~
I’m not a person who embraces winter, but walking through the woods after a fluffy, white snowfall is almost like stepping into a dreamscape.  The silence that surrounds me and the cloud-like puffs of breath that escape my lips feel, somehow, holy.
~
To be able to walk by the light of the moon makes it all the more enchanted.
~
It almost feels as though I’ve stepped into the land of the White Witch of Narnia and she could be around the next corner, ready to imprison me.  I wouldn’t like it too much if it were “always winter and never Christmas” though, so I must turn and make my way back home.
~
These days are rare and must be appreciated.  Never miss the chance to walk through snowy woods.  And if you happen upon a small girl named Lucy, by all means…follow her.
~
Leave a Reply

