Me, Myself and Ann

AnnMargretI have a mother who loves movies.  I guess it’s not too much of a stretch to have grown up to be a woman who also loves movies. There’s something about the pretending that really captures my heart.

The first movie I really remember loving is ‘Dr. Doolittle’ starring Rex Harrison.  The first movie star I remember loving is Ann-Margret.  For a little girl with impossibly short hair (as you can plainly see, my parents loved the pixie), Ann’s beautiful auburn hair was what I wished for.  Plus she got to sing and dance with Elvis.t small

Of course I was too young to have seen her early movies on the big screen, but whenever they played on television, I watched.  To a little girl living in the land of Scandinavians, admiring a Swedish-born actress just seems, somehow, right.

Ann-Margret didn’t have an easy life, at a high point in her career, she left show business to care for her ailing husband. Yet, she acted when she could and I can remember, as a teenager, seeing her in the rock-opera “Tommy” and thinking, “She’s still pretty cool”.

Later in her career she went on to star alongside Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon in “Grumpy Old Men”, a classic around these parts.  Yet the Ann I wanted to be was the Ann in “Bye, Bye Birdie” and “Viva Las Vegas”.  Of course, her part as “Ann-Margrock” in the Flintstones was also pretty cool.

If I see her old movies on the classics channel, I still never fail to watch them.  I grew up to look more like Teri Garr than Ann-Margret but a girl can still dream, can’t she?

 

 

Leave a Reply

