A Lesson From Peter Pan

peter_pan_flyingI cannot remember a time in my life when I wasn’t wishing that I could, somehow, fly.

When I was very young, it was because I wished for adventure and travel to far away places…as an adult, most often it’s because I’m late.

I have read thousands of books in my lifetime – I feel a little sorry for those who don’t like to read – they don’t know what they’re missing.  My love affair with books began when I was very young.  I couldn’t wait to read, and when I finally could, it felt as though a great treasure had been laid at my feet.

Through the years and all the books I have learned many lessons that relate to life.  One of my favorite comes from the book, ‘Peter Pan’ by J.M. Barrie.

Peter was a boy who didn’t want to grow up – he overheard his parents talking about his future as a man, so he ran away.  I can relate.  There are some days that I wish I were still a child so I didn’t have to deal with adult problems and hassles.

Since we have no choice in the matter, other than not being alive at all, we learn to grow up and still try to keep a little bit of the child we once were, within.

One of the greatest lessons we can learn from Peter is this:

Everyone can fly.

We are all capable of reaching to the stars to fulfill our dreams – we can achieve whatever we’d like as long as we work hard and keep trying.  Flying toward our dreams.  However, it’s when we DOUBT that we can fly that we cease being able to do so.

Don’t ever doubt yourself – you can do it – you can achieve those goals and dreams if you want them enough.

Never cease flying.  Your inner child will thank you.

Leave a Reply

