Macklemore and Dad

2054_56754347753_5220_n

“I wear your granddad’s clothes
I look incredible
I’m in this big ass coat
From that thrift shop down the road”

-From the song “Thrift Shop”

My dad was “thrift shop” before “thrift shop” was cool. Waaaay before Macklemore decided it was cool enough to write a song about,  my dad was “poppin’ tags”.

Once a week for as long as I can remember, my parents have gone on an adventure which they call “gallivanting”.  What it really is is “thrifting”.  They didn’t realize that they were hip, but they are.

Every week they head out in search of the holy grail of thrift store finds.  Every week they say, “We don’t need anything”, yet always seem to find at least one treasure.

Some searches have been more successful than others. There was the acquisition of the two “authentic Eskimo” coats (as seen in the photo above).  They each weighed about 30 pounds and were hot enough, when wearing, to cause weight loss.  But, overall, they found some great things. From rare books to fine china to Lladro figurines – they did pretty well.

Outweighing the value of any of their purchases was the benefit received from the actual “thrifting” itself.  Time spent together, strengthening a 53 year marriage, priceless. Getting to know the backroads and sideroads of rural Minnesota – an adventure.  Bestowing some of the treasures upon loved ones – so memorable.

I love my parents very much.  They have always been supportive and encouraging and just plain wonderful.  And it is any wonder that several of my closest friends also enjoy “thrifting”? No.

And I think that’s “freaking awesome”.

 

Leave a Reply

