The Ocean, My Heart

Beach T (8)

“The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears or the sea.”

Isak Dinesen

There’s just something about the water that draws me to its shores.  Perhaps it’s the endless, pulsing rhythm that calls to me.  Perhaps it’s the eternal horizon that offers up a promise of what’s out there.

I didn’t see the ocean until I was 30 years old.

As a child, we lived far from my place of birth, far from family, so each and every vacation led us to them.  This was a wonderful thing; however, we never went to any of the traditional American vacation spots such as The Grand Canyon, Disneyland, or the ocean.

I remember watching movies that featured the sea – they drew me in every time – as if, somehow, we had already been acquainted and were old friends.  I knew that I needed to get there somehow and, when I finally did, I knew exactly why that was.

To stand at the edge of the ocean is a marvelous thing.  I reminds me of how small I am in this vast world. It affords me a perspective of life that I cannot find anywhere else.  More than the unparalleled sunrises and sunsets are the sounds of the sea.  The caw of the seagulls, the whisper of the waves as they bubble across the sand, reaching to the shore.

The sea offers up a sense of calm and hope and comfort to me.  Perhaps I should have been a sailor?  Perhaps a mermaid?  Either way, I know I will always return to the shore as long as I am able.

One thing is a given, no matter where the beach, I will always be barefoot.

One thought on “The Ocean, My Heart

  1. Pingback: To Cross The Waves Of Time.. | We dream of things that never were and say: "Why not?"

Leave a Reply

