Music Rules

Love-Quote-of-the-Day-3-400x300“Where words fail, music speaks.” ~ Hans Christian Andersen

I remember being presented with a dilemma when I was very young.  It was a tough choice to make, but I knew the answer immediately.

The question was this: “If you had to lose your sense of sight or your sense of hearing, which would you choose.”

The question was meant to start a debate, a discussion in a 6th grade communications class.  We were each just beginning to know our own minds and hearts, so the answers were both amusing and heartbreaking.

For me, the choice was simple – I cannot imagine a life without music.

It’s not that I’m a musician.  I dabble here and there but I’m no special talent.  What I truly embrace is the emotion within the music.  It moves me and speaks to me the way no photograph ever could.  It fills in the spaces where no words suffice. The lyric writers seem to have reached into my soul and picked out just the right words to express how I’m feeling.

I love all kinds of music, no bias here…rock, blues, classical, jazz, pop, rap, big band, country – you name it.  I feel sad when people choose to only enjoy one genre – they’re missing out on so much when they do.

I was listening to Harry Chapin’s “Cat’s in the Cradle” on the radio today.  It still moves me. “Let It Be,” by the Beatles causes a catch in my throat too.  Dave Brubeck’s “Take Five” makes me happy and “Sing, Sing,Sing” by Benny Goodman makes my heart skip a beat and my feet tap.  So many songs have played a part in the soundtrack of my life – there are simply too many to list.

I know my love of music comes from my parents – there was always music playing in our home.  Such a wonderful legacy to hand down.  I hope I’ve done the same with my kids – I tend to think so.  Two of them are supreme guitarists and have dabbled with several other instruments as well. The other two are music lovers as well.  My husband is even a drummer.  (I always did have a thing for drummers.)

Many other dilemmas have been presented over the years, most choices were not clear cut.

And while there are certainly beautiful things to see in the world, imagine such classics as “The Wizard of Oz” and “Star Wars” without the music.

As the character Dumbledore once said, “Ah, music…a magic beyond all we do here!”

One thought on “Music Rules

Leave a Reply

