Serendipity

IMG_7275ser·en·dip·i·ty  (srn-dp-t)  noun

1. The faculty of making fortunate discoveries by accident.

.
I showed up early for a class.  I had received an email telling me we’d be meeting at 6 pm. No one was there.  I went to sit and wait and in walked another woman.  “Oh good,” I thought, “I’m not the only one.”  As she approached me, we both realized we’d received the same email.  Funny thing is…the email was wrong.  We were, apparently, the only two who received the erroneous one.  
.
As we sat and waited for the class to start at the actual time (6:30) we began chatting. We had so much in common.  I knew this would be a really great friend.  Serendipity.
.
These things happen all of the time in our lives.  Usually we miss such happy incidents because, rather than rolling with the flow, we get mad and complain or go home.
.
The next time you are put off by a delay, a wrong turn, a missed bus…breathe.  Take a minute to see what it is that you were put there to see.  I don’t believe in  luck – I do believe in serendipity though.
.
Here are a few serendipitous discoveries – accidental but important:
.
  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • Brandy
  • Teflon
  • Microwave Oven
  • Penicillin
  • Potato Chips

Now the importance of these discoveries may vary, subjectively, but they are all a part of our modern, every day lives.

So don’t fight those wrong turns you make – there may be a best friend just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

