Tea

bd105e7c78b3“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

–C.S. Lewis

As the days are getting shorter and the daylight itself is often muted, I look for cozy things. Soft, warm blankets…a fire in the fireplace…a good book…and tea.

My grandmother’s family was British.  I think it was her love of tea and the tea parties we had when I was young which gave me my love for it.  Of course, the tea must have cream and sugar.  A good scone on the side is always welcomed. But beyond the beverage itself, tea is comforting to me.  My favorite is Earl Grey.  The smell of it alone calms me in ways no medication ever could.

I think we have experiences in life which can all be brought back in a moment due to an aroma.  It immediately takes us back to a special time or place and it doesn’t cost a thing. No plane ticket nor passport needed.

I lost my grandmother when I was 10 years old.  She was, and still is, one of the most beloved people who ever left a footprint on  my heart.  I still miss her dearly.  Sometimes I see her face when I look in the mirror these days.  It makes me very happy.  I was even able to visit her beloved England a few years back.  Perhaps that is why I love it there so much, I feel close to her there.

It’s a little chilly outside today – snow is teasing the air.  The fireplace is crackling and dancing.  Time for tea.

2 thoughts on “Tea

Leave a Reply

