It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s….you

cape1There are days when I could really use a superhero.

Someone to pick me up and fly away with me to a place of safety and security would be terrific.  Someone to fight all of my monsters and stand up for me against those bullies life throws at me.  Someone to always have my back.

I saw the photo of this little girl while following some rabbit trail on the internet and she struck a powerful chord within me.  Each of us, deep within, has the power of a superhero if we’d only just tap into it.

The human spirit is highly resilient.  Some of us display that resiliency closer to the surface than others, but it’s there for each of us if only we’d trust in its existence.

Presented with unimaginable evil and sorrow, places like New York, Boston, New Jersey, New Orleans and Japan showed their very best colors.  But it wasn’t the places in general that proved to be strong – it was the people within the respective borders.  Everyday Joes and Janes who put on their capes and stepped up.

I realize that many of the superheroes who showed up in those places were trained professionals and I certainly salute them and offer my thanks, however; many were people just like you and me.  People who saw a need and raised their hand.

You know you have that within you, right?  That unbelievable ability to handle unbelievable problems.  You can do it.  You have the power within you.

So the next time you wake up and just can’t seem to face the day – put on your cape and go forth into the fray, Superman.

 

Leave a Reply

