Happy Place

00000012We all have that moment in time, that special place we’ve been, where we’d like to return.

I think the importance of “going to our happy place” is underrated.  With the stresses and hard times we experience from time to time, sometimes daily, we all need to get away from it all – even if only for a few moments.

For many of us, this place is connected to a place far from home.  It can be something as simple as grandma’s house or something as exotic as that special trip to Bora Bora.  I think we can use this as a tool to help de-stress the stressful times.

Try this – put a picture of your happy place on your desk on your refrigerator – somewhere that you are sure to see often.  Every time you see it, remember something specific about that place…smells, sounds, people, tastes…keep adding to the memories.

The next time you are feeling low or uptight or needing a vacation – take 5 minutes and hold that picture in your hand.  Get to a quiet place if you can.  Focus on that photo and remember all of those great feelings that place gives you.  Tell yourself a story about that photo – why did you take it?  who was with you? what did that day look like?

For me, my happy place is near the ocean.  It calms me and fills me up in ways no other place can.  My favorite place of all is the Caribbean – it’s warm and sunny and the water is of a color unlike any other place I’ve been.  The people are friendly, the sand is soothing – I love that place.  It doesn’t much matter which particular city I’m in – as long as it’s near the water.

This photo above was taken while I was in my happy place – I go there often in my mind.

The next time you feel like you can’t take another step – that you need a vacation but just can’t swing it.  Take a short trip to your happy place.  Soak it all in.  Breathe.  Smile.

Carry on.

Leave a Reply

