Kinky

kinks-2845867“Yeah…you really got me now, you got me so I can’t sleep at night!”

While the band, The Kinks, was a groovy thing to behold – the kinds of kinks which are bothering me this week, are not.

Stress is not a good thing for this old body, or any body for that matter.  Stress causes a host of bad things:  Kinky muscles, headaches, stomach aches, sleeplessness and weight gain.

Went to see Dr. Mike the most excellent Chiropractor this morning and he could tell something was up.  He reminded me that the reason I was holding my shoulders and head like Frankenstein’s monster was due to stress.  He then went on to un-kink the whole mess.  Might I say, “ouch!”.  Although now I feel better.

Then I headed up to see personal trainer Chris and it was evident that the reason I didn’t lose any weight this week was a direct cause of stress.  Diet – same,  work outs – same, stress – off the charts.

I realize that stress is a part of life, it cannot be avoided – however, there are things we can do to ease the effects of stress a bit.

1. Journaling – spend a few minutes writing down the things that are bugging you – once they are down on paper, sometimes they aren’t so bad.  It’s also a good way to release the tension without burdening a friend or loved one.

2. Meditation – Find a guided meditation podcast on iTunes (if you have it) or on-line.  Take a few quiet minutes to listen and relax.

3.  Restorative Stretching – Look for a good relaxation class nearby and try it.  It will help your body relax and take your mind off of what’s bugging you.

4.  Deep Breathing – Take several slow, measured breaths in and out – slow your heart rate.  Relax.

5.  Massage – Now I know this can be expensive, but there are deals to be had.  And if you are super stressed and are feeling it in your bones – it’s worth the cost.

I feel much better and the stresses of last weekend are disappearing quickly, thank goodness, so I’m hoping next week’s weigh in is a “negative” experience, if you catch my drift.

“Louie, Louie…oh baby…I gotta go now.  Yeah yeah yeah yeah.”

2 thoughts on “Kinky

  1. Hey sistah. I don’t use Yoga as a doctrine whatsoever. It is merely a way to stretch my bod. The classes I take are not mystical in nature – no chanting, no weird names – they just help me strengthen my body. When I was trying to resolve the conflicts that arise between Christianity and Yoga – I came across this article and it speaks, pretty clearly, how I feel. Hope I didn’t offend you – not all who read the blog believe as I do for a variety of reasons, but I think all know that my faith in God is central.

    http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2005/mayweb-only/42.0b.html

Leave a Reply

