Sleep, Sheep and zzzzzs

sleepy“I’m so tired, I haven’t slept a wink…I’m so tired, my mind is on the blink.”

John Lennon must have had a puppy.

When we committed to the challenge of a new puppy, we knew there would be some times of change – sleep loss, chewing incidents, house training, boundless energy to constructively channel…we knew all this.  At the time we were happily up to the task.  At the time we had gotten plenty of sleep.

Cue reality.

The hardest part, for me, is learning how to fit this new little guy and his needs into my schedule – especially my workout schedule.  He simply does not care how fit I feel or if I’m on goal this week – he wants my time…all of it.

He is worth it and I know he will become a great companion to us in the next many years, I just need to remember, that in order to stay active with him, I need to focus on my goals too.

It’s very simple to skip over the things I know are important: eating well and on time, working out every day, keeping in touch with friends and family – when I am tired.  But do them I must!

So while I may be a bit Sleepy now, I need to get past Grumpy and onto Happy again.

Heigh-Ho! Heigh-Ho!  Off to the gym I go!

Leave a Reply

