What’s Up, Doc?

bugs-bunny“The head learns new things, but the heart forever practices old experiences.”

 Henry Ward Beecher

“Carrots are divine… You get a dozen for a dime, It’s maaaa-gic!”

-Bugs Bunny

Yesterday I spent the morning going over the results of my allergy tests  with my nutritionist.  She had a multi-page report telling me what “new and exciting” changes I needed to make. (Yes, that was meant to be a bit sarcastic.)

Actually she was most helpful and informative and gently explained to me that the things I was eating, that my body most craved, were actually doing me harm.  They were causing a lot of inflammation and other side effects and I needed to make some changes.

So the list of foods I have to eliminate are…

  • Cheddar, swiss and cottage cheese
  • Egg yolks
  • Baker’s yeast (includes too many foods to list here but some are breads, crackers, pastries, alcoholic beverages, vanilla and almond extracts and dry cereals and on and on and on)
  • Brewer’s yeast (alcohol)
  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Gluten
  • Yogurt
  • Cow’s milk

Yikes.  That’s a list of pretty much every food I enjoy in some form or another. Fortunately, carrots are not on the list.  Oh goodie! (Again with the sarcasm)

My new challenge is to find a menu that includes good tasting recipes that don’t include these foods as ingredients.  It’s a challenge to say the least. I spent an hour at the grocery store in a stunned daze while reading labels – most things contain at least one or more of those ingredients.

If I listen to medical advice and the advice of my nutritionist, I am going to see some good changes in my physical well-being.  No more inflammation.  No more head aches.  No more acid-reflux.  A happier “gut” (her term, I’d say tummy).  More efficient weight loss and weight maintenance.

So I will embrace these changes as I have the others – it’s a larger list than anticipated but I am thankful for the information.  Information is power, after all.

So while I might go a little “Looney Tunes” for a short time – it will all be good in THE END.

Th-Th-Th-Th-Th That’s all folks!

 

Leave a Reply

