Demons

scared-woman-retroDefinition of a demon: “A persistently tormenting person, force, or passion”.

I am speaking of dietary demons, personal ones.  We each have our own tormentors – mine happen to be carbs, specifically all wheat-related ones.

I recently had a food allergy panel run because I had been feeling quite lethargic and “low” physically.  My nutritionist suggested I have this run to see if it might be diet related.  It was.

Over the past several months, whenever I ate certain foods, I would cough.  I felt a little wheezy – nothing terrible, just annoying.  Turns out the culprits are wheat and yeast products.

So, how do you adjust when your “demon” is in almost every recipe you’ve ever made?  You adjust – you exorcise it from your menu.  It’s not easy and most certainly requires the help of a higher power (for me that meant lots of prayer and a good nutritionist).

I have to admit – I never really quite believed the whole “gluten-free” thing.  Just never understood how it could pop up and become so prevalent in the last decade.  I had never, ever heard of such a thing growing up.  I was skeptical, to say the least.

Turns out a lot of the problems with wheat are related to the way foods are processed here in the modern world.  The more serious relative of gluten sensitivities is celiac disease.  This is a much more serious ailment and, according to WebMD, only affects about 1% of the population.  I guess I’m counting my blessings on that one.

Foods I’ve had to cut out:  Bread, pasta, cereals, most baked goods, soy sauce (yep, it’s in there), cream based sauces and gravies, many salad dressings, many types of candy.

There are worse things in the world, I admit, but it’s been quite a tough adjustment to make.  I like carbs – all of them.  I miss them.  My body, however, does not miss them – it feels so much better.  No more headaches, no more joint pains, no stomach aches and less irritability.

If you are feeling “low” and run down – get thee to a doctor.  Have your blood checked out – specifically request an allergy panel to be run.  Mine tested nearly 100 foods.  Make sure you can meet with someone who can interpret the results clearly and give you some direction as to how to proceed.

Like I said earlier, we all have dietary demons – who thought mine would wear the face of a Cinnabon?

Leave a Reply

