One is silver and the other’s gold…

keep-calm-and-make-new-friendsSo if you were ever a girl scout, you may know those words.

It’s a camp song about making new friends.  It starts off like this…

“Make new friends,
but keep the old.
One is silver,
and the other’s gold.”

As we moved to a new town, a bit removed from all that was familiar for so many years, I felt very lonely.  It felt a bit like living on an island…the shore was in sight but it was too far to swim.

As this 90-Day-Challenge began, one of my goals was to step out of my comfort zone and make new friends.

I know I mentioned this previously, but I have to say that the surprise gift of my new friend, Jeani, is indeed precious.  We spent the morning sipping lattes and walking around a lake – although it is one of the steamiest days in recent history here.  We compared notes about life and what we like and don’t like and how our children are and what they do and how we both love to travel. We’ve spent the last few weeks working out together and chatting as we have time.  She’s even helping our son with the purchase of his first home as she is a realtor.

It was a wonderful morning and I am so grateful that Jeani stepped into my path and I into hers.  We feel like old friends already.

The shore is in sight and it’s very near.

2 thoughts on “One is silver and the other’s gold…

  1. When I moved to NYC I didn’t know anyone and had no family here… it sucked. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

Leave a Reply

