I think I can…

Publication1*Sigh*

Weigh in day was not what I expected it to be.

My clothes are getting looser, my muscles are getting stronger, my energy levels are way up…the scale is not cooperating.

My trainer, Chris, was as positive and encouraging as ever and just said to pay attention to the positive changes I am seeing instead of the ones I’m not seeing.  He’s absolutely right.

As I was having a little bit of a pity party on my drive home from the gym, I thought, “How discouraging.” Then as I began typing up my thoughts, the word “discouraged” changed before my eyes.  Let’s take it apart: dis-courage-d  Wait! What’s that right in the middle of it?  “COURAGE”

Even though I am doing everything right, my body is still adjusting to all the changes it’s being put through.  How easy it would be to throw up my hands in frustration and just give up.  Courage.  I need to dig deep and be strong and fight for this good goal of better health and fitness.

We always need to remember as we strive toward ANY goal in life that there will be set backs and plateaus (I hate that word) and frustrations – but there will also be victories.  We need to have the courage to continue on the good path, step by step, and keep at it.  I know I will.

I feel better, sleep better, look better and my health is improving.  I need to keep repeating the words of The Little Engine That Could…”I think I can, I think I can…I know I can, I know I can.”

And, as the saying goes, “Don’t be discouraged.  It’s often the last key in the bunch that opens the lock!”

Leave a Reply

