Inside Job

Meditation-leafOne thing I’ve realized over these past few days is that, although my days are sometimes quiet, they aren’t always peaceful.

I’m trying to learn to relax more, stress less, count to 10 or 20 or 30 before I react.

I read something earlier and it said this: “Peace is an inside job”.

It’s funny how, over the centuries, peace has become a major societal goal – a global goal, yet it never quite seems to be achieved.  Why is that?  Perhaps it’s because we’re all striving for it so mightily that we create the polar opposite of that which we seek.  We work so hard at it that all we end up with is a tired soul and a weary mind.

I never thought I’d be one to meditate – I thought it was a little mystic and “out there” for my sense of being. But someone suggested to me that meditation can be another form of prayer and can be tailored to fit your beliefs.  After all, they reminded this Christian woman, Jesus often went off to a quiet place.  So I gave it a try.

Find a quiet place.  Make it a little dark.  Turn off all distractions.  Relax.

I found a few pod casts that have relaxing music in the background while the teacher helps you find a moment of peace.  It’s relaxing, refreshing, renewing.  I really liked it and will do it often.

There’s a well known quote by an anonymous source which says this: “Peace.  It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.”

It truly is an inside job and which, for me, includes a little help from above..

Leave a Reply

